Mysterious appearance of owls…

Time is running out. Make the most of it! That’s what I’m telling myself at the moment. Although I’m looking forward to going home (my actual home, Hamburg!), it is always sad to leave a beautiful place. And Oxford certainly is a beauty!

Writing this blog I realised there was so much that triggered my memory: mostly TV Shows and books, but also sweet memories from my childhood and my stay in Australia. This right now is really a time of nostalgia…

I’ve been sightseeing a lot lately. It’s a sightseeing marathon really. First, I visited a friend in London. After living in the UK for 7 months without seeing each other, we decided it was about time.

IMG_5253 IMG_5256

I watched the show Mr. Selfridge, so I wanted to see the real thing.
People looked at me strangely for taking pictures of a door instead of buying things…

To continue with the TV Show themed London tour:

IMG_4281
IMG_5261 IMG_4283 IMG_5262

And of course I had to go into the Disney shop!

Then I had lunch in the sun in front of the British Museum and afterwards strolled through the amazing building…

IMG_5268
IMG_5269

 IMG_5276 IMG_5278

IMG_5280
I don’t know why they displayed an ancient toilet?

IMG_5284
Downton Abbey, anyone?

IMG_5286
IMG_5287

IMG_5289 And this one reminded me (obviously) of Daryl Dixon (The Walking Dead).

IMG_5303

Some impressions of London:

IMG_5312 IMG_5315 IMG_5320 IMG_5322  IMG_5324 IMG_5260
IMG_5332 IMG_5333
Hyde Park

Next, I went to Germany over the Easter Break and enjoyed some family time. Do you know that feeling of going into your old room and thinking “This is home”? I love it!

Home sweet home…

IMG_4336 IMG_4360 IMG_4367
Those who watch Hannibal will get this…

 When I came back I had to really get down to business and get my uni work done! I handed in my submissions last week on Thursday, which was the official last day of classes. For me that probably means my last day at uni forever. Strange feeling. Time flies.

This weekend I had two good friends from Australia visiting, who are honeymooning through Europe. We haven’t seen each other in 5 years and it was awesome to finally catch up! They brought me my favourite cookies in the world (which is not the only reason I was happy to see them… But still: thank you guys so much!) This reunion brought up so many pleasant memories of my times in Australia. I really miss my little island floating about down under. In my head I’m planning a visit, maybe this time to New Zealand… Of course only as an excuse to get a TimTam-milkshake at Gloria Jeans (do they have them in NZ?). Anyway, they’re to die for (Disney reference, get it?!).

IMG_4403Irene and me being happy with TimTams 🙂

 

I showed them around town and we went to see Hertford College, which triggered my craving for more Colleges.

IMG_5344 IMG_5346

… and had a great dinner (Indian, followed by a gigantic – my favourite – waffle sundae! Mhhh).

IMG_4405 IMG_4406

Albert, Irene and me!

When they left again (way too soon!), I decided to continue the sightseeing and went to see some colleges. I finally made it into Brasenose (remember, it was the first one I saw when I came to Oxford and I fell in love with it). Some of the colleges are surprisingly large! You think “Oh, that’s pretty, I’ll step inside” and then there are these enormous gardens and parks surrounded by fascinating architecture.

Brasenose College (Who of you can recall the reason why it’s named Brasenose?)

IMG_5363 IMG_5365IMG_5358   IMG_5367

This door looked awesome and, see, there was a sign, so I thought it meant I could go in. So I did. But then this man came running after me “You can’t go in there, miss!” Yeah, well. I like adventures! After that I deliberately wandered off in some of the colleges. IMG_5372

First owl (watch out for more…)

IMG_5377 IMG_5379
I
t has been raining here for the past few weeks, so when it was finally sunny and summerish, everyone enjoyed the warmth outside…

Lincoln College

IMG_5381

IMG_5384 IMG_5385

Eternal door and coconut flower

IMG_5399

 

Wadham College

IMG_5418

IMG_5419 IMG_5423 IMG_5426 IMG_5427

Keble College (this one really surprised me, I thought it would be rather small…)

IMG_5433 IMG_5436 IMG_5437 IMG_5438

I realised, I’ve been living in England for months now and never took the typical photo of a telephone booth… So here it is!

IMG_5460

Tadaaaa!

St. John’s College (this one also surprised me with its grand park grounds. And it’s always amazing how quiet it is in there, even though it’s right in the city centre.)

IMG_5463 IMG_5464 IMG_5466 IMG_5467 IMG_5468

IMG_5471

I wonder where that door leads to…
I always find myself imagining little stories when I see things like that.

IMG_5474 IMG_5481

Bleeding hearts. I “borrowed” some…

I went to the Museum of the History of Science, where many of the displays reminded me of the Golden Compass.

IMG_5416

IMG_5401 IMG_5406
Pink!

And also to the Natural History Museum. This looks amazing from the outside, which was already enough to excite me! Even after living in Oxford for quite a while now, I still enjoy the sandstone buildings so much.

IMG_5440

IMG_5442 IMG_5443

… another owl… keep that in mind for the next post! (It will follow in the next few days)

IMG_5448 IMG_5453
Invasion of zombie animals & a reminder of my friends from Australia.

 Oh yeah, and I got my first article published in a newspaper! Amazing to see my own words in print!

IMG_4387

IMG_4414 IMG_4416

Bleeding hearts in my room & Mad Hatter Tea from the Alice in Wonderland Shop.

(Which leaves us with a great transition to this time’s fun fact:)

Alice, from Alice in Wonderland, was a real girl named Alice Liddell. She was the daughter
of the Dean at Christ Church, who was a friend of Charles Dodgson (A.K.A. Lewis Carroll),
who taught at the College. Dodgson spent much time with Alice and her family,
and immortalized her in his books.

2 thoughts on “Mysterious appearance of owls…

  1. Yay, we made the blog. I hope you enjoy every Tim tam, until you return down under! Ooh such a nice day in Oxford, and you saw so much! Well I will live through your blog! Great pics too.. You can def work that camera! 😉

    • Haha, I will savour them to their last litte crumb! But hopefully I can really make it down under soon! Maybe I can take the camera class there then 😉 How is Paris? You have to have a Crepes with butter and sugar there. It’s soooo good!

Leave a Reply

