Chirping of crickets

Oh my, it’s been so quiet here again. But your patience shall be generously rewarded! There are some great stories to tell and now you will read all about it!

Alright, alright, alright.

Before I left for my vacation I had another work group meeting with my lovely class mates and I was the host – yikes! I made some very yummy muffins and, understandably, they loved them. Because they were deliciously delicious Apple Coconut Muffins!IMG_3854

You can find the recipe here: http://iadorefood.com/recipes/apple-and-coconut-muffins/

Oh, and we also made good progress on our work of course.

Some days in February/March already felt like spring was coming…

IMG_3864 IMG_3865

 

But most of the days were still glum. The day I left for my mini-vacation in Mallorca (of course), it was foggy, wet and cold in Oxford. So I was very glad when I arrived and saw this:

IMG_3896 IMG_3899

IMG_3903 IMG_4998

I had a lovely time with my Mum. I didn’t expect the weather to be so nice, but we were able to sunbathe and let our bodies be charged up with sunny warmth.

One day we kidnapped a baby and then hiked up the Ermita de Betlem. Well, the baby part isn’t true, but it looks like it, doesn’t it? It was a nice tour, not too long, not too hot and offering very nice views.

IMG_5001 IMG_5002 IMG_5013 IMG_5016 IMG_5024 IMG_5026 IMG_5028

At our hotel Cap Vermell we made a new furry friend who was very trustful and didn’t want leave us again.

IMG_3906 IMG_3942

 And followed us wherever we went….IMG_3959

We drove to Sóller, which is on the west coast of Mallorca. The drive was nice, we stopped in a mountain hotel for some lunch, which was a little awkward cause it was so quiet and we were the only ones. But the place was stunning.

IMG_3966 IMG_3967

Port de Sóller itself felt like a ghost town. Of course, it’s off-season, but it really felt like a city of the dead. So we quickly left again. I guess in summer it can be nicethere – the pictures aren’t even bad – but when we were there it felt depressing.

IMG_5039  IMG_5041

It is nice to have the feeling of “coming home” even when you’re on holiday. I love our little Spanish family in Canyamel.

IMG_4031  IMG_5046 IMG_5054 IMG_5056 IMG_3949IMG_5071

Remember the fog from the day I left Oxford? Well, I had to come back eventually and here it was again…

IMG_3989

Now, lets take a moment and have a little lesson about British weather. The difficulty with that is: there is no British weather. You can get any sort of climate and weather every day and usually you get more than one within an hour. So it would be foggy (see above) then it would be a beautiful sunset…

IMG_3991

… then there would be a sudden hailstorm
(I was wearing wellies and a coat, hence the awesome knee-wetness)…

IMG_4159

… then it would be summer!

IMG_4019

You get the idea…

For two weeks now I’m living according to Metabolic Balance. It is a health plan to enhance your metabolism and help you reach and maintain a healthy weight. According to your blood results you learn which foods are good for you individually. It evolves mainly around proteins and there are some very strict rules that you have to stick to (only eat every 5 hrs, each meal starts with a protein, …) There are four phases which help you accustom to the new lifestyle. It all gets easier with time. I can say: it works! And if you’re all thinking now: well, well, just another bloody diet! Hold your horses, because it’s not (only a diet)! 2 weeks in and I feel more energetic and less hungry! And I will prove to you how diverse and delicious this eating plan is. Just look at these awesome pictures of some of the meals I’ve cooked so far:

IMG_4058 IMG_4176

Vanilla/cinnamon porridge with apple// salmon with herbs, asparagus, broccoli

IMG_4230  IMG_4163

Goat’s cheese soup with cauliflower, courgette & mushrooms // chicken with avocado, mango & salad

IMG_4166 IMG_4191

Chickpea salad & chickpea pancakes (!!!!) // salmon again with green sauce & veggies

IMG_4198 IMG_4202

Egg omelet and rye pancake with strawberries & strawberry puree

IMG_4251

Chickpea pasta with spinach, mushrooms, paprika, papaya & piri piri!!! I never had chickpea pasta before but it was really good and it is much healthier than regular pasta!

I’ve been asked to write a guest post for Amelie kocht about my experience with Metabolic Balance in England. She has some really great recipes on her blog, so if you’re looking for inspiration for a healthy meal, head over to her blog and check it out! (Unfortunately it is only in German. I am thinking of creating a food blog as well with recipes for healthy (MB)-recipes and not so healthy ones, but just as delicious. What do you think? Go for LeoFood? 😉 )

For the past month we had a temporary new roommate. A German! She was lovely, and we had some fun times together. She worked at Oxford University and so she was able to take us into some of the colleges. We went to see Trinity, Balliol and Magdalen. Unfortunately, Brasenose was closed, but I will definitely go see it before I leave.

IMG_5137

Kristi stole my camera…

Trinity College: 

  IMG_5142   IMG_5152 IMG_5155 IMG_5156 IMG_5157 2014-03-30 15.39.03
Kristi, me, Morgan, Michelle

IMG_2387

Oh my God! A CAT!

IMG_5162

He/she was rather unimpressed…

IMG_5165 IMG_5166 IMG_5168 IMG_5170

Easter feeling vs horror feeling

IMG_8762

We felt rebellious and walked on the grass, which is usually a privilege reserved for professors.

Balliol College:

IMG_5176 IMG_5181 IMG_5194

Interesting: Spring-flower Lawn… first plant listed: winter aconite…

 IMG_5197  IMG_5202 IMG_8834

I was sitting in Dumbledore’s seat!!!

IMG_5204

We were having fun in the food hall, but then decided it would probably be more appropriate to be rather serious…

IMG_5208

 

Those who know me can probably guess, that didn’t last long.

IMG_5212

In my defense: we were almost dressed exactly the same. He WANTED me to do this!

 

IMG_5213 IMG_8765

 

Magdalen College: (definitely one of my favourites now…)

IMG_5216 IMG_5217 IMG_5224 IMG_5226 IMG_5229 IMG_5231 IMG_5239

They have deer!

IMG_5242 IMG_5247  IMG_8871

It was a fun, sunny day with much laughter and when we got home we were all tired and happy. Our parents would be proud if they knew how much time we spent outdoors!

Last but not least: I finally went to the Ashmolean Museum this weekend with two friends. It is a great museum that offers many different fantastic exhibitions. We even took part in the kids’ challenge and had to sketch something in the museum. It was great fun! Did you know, that most of the museums in the UK are for free?

IMG_4236 IMG_4237

Kind of weird to think there was (maybe still is?) a dead person inside…

IMG_4240 IMG_4241

They had such lovely instruments, most of them Stradivaris.

Now, as usual, boys and girls, lets end with a fun fact (of the month):

Oxford’s Ashmolean Museum was the first museum in the world to be opened
to the public
when it was officially opened in 1683.

8 thoughts on “Chirping of crickets

  1. well, at one point I was worried that I just read another food blog 😉
    and now to something completely different….
    love the houses =)

  2. The diet sounds great Leo, and the food looks awesome. The best thing is when it doesn’t feel like a diet, instead it’s just enjoying good food and the benefits from eating well.. I’m pushing to lose some weight before the Europe trip. Anyways I hope the Aussie invasion is covered in your next blog! Xx

    • Yes, exactly! I don’t feel like dieting too much. I’m never starving myself or anything, and the meals I eat are absolutely delicious!
      I am sooo looking forward to your visit and of course I will write about our adventures together 😉 Not long now, can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

